About the RDN

About the RDN

map of the RDN

The Regional District of Nanaimo provides regional governance and services throughout Vancouver Island's beautiful central east coast. Communities within the regional federation include the municipalities of Nanaimo, Lantzville, Parksville, and Qualicum Beach, as well as seven unincorporated Electoral Areas. Established in 1967, the RDN is British Columbia's fifth-most populous Regional District of the 27 throughout the province, and home to 170,367 people according to the 2021 Census. Click here for detailed population information.

The RDN is governed by a 19-member Regional Board, comprised of twelve directors from locally-elected municipal councils, and seven directors elected by Electoral Area residents. Board members also sit on a variety of regional select and standing committees for key services, as well as the RDN Committee of the Whole.

In recent years the RDN has been recognized for its leadership among Canadian local governments in sustainable community development, improving services and quality of life for residents, while reducing the local environmental footprint and dependence on limited resources.

Municipalities Electoral Areas Departments Contact Us