

NEWS RELEASE

November 8, 2022

The Regional District of Nanaimo Welcomes New and Returning Directors to its Board for a Four-Year Term

The Regional District of Nanaimo's (RDN) 2022-2026 Directors were sworn into office at its inaugural board meeting on November 8, 2022. A total of nineteen elected officials representing the RDN's seven electoral areas and four municipalities took oaths of office and became its Board of Directors for a four-year term.

The RDN Board of Directors are:

Electoral Area A	Jessica Stanley
South Wellington, Cassidy, Cedar	
Electoral Area B	Vanessa Craig
Gabriola & Surrounding Islands	
Electoral Area C	Lauren Melanson
Extension, East Wellington, Pleasant Valley	
Electoral Area E	Bob Rogers
Nanoose Bay	
Electoral Area F	Leanne Salter
Coombs, Hilliers, Errington	
Electoral Area G	Lehann Wallace
Englishman River, San Pareil, French Creek, Little Qualicum, Dashwood	
Electoral Area H	Stuart McLean
Shaw Hill, Deep Bay, Bowser	
City of Parksville	Doug O'Brien
City of Parksville	Sean Wood
Town of Qualicum Beach	Teunis Westbroek
District of Lantzville	Mark Swain
City of Nanaimo	Leonard Krog
City of Nanaimo	Sheryl Armstrong
City of Nanaimo	Tyler Brown
City of Nanaimo	Ben Geselbracht
City of Nanaimo	Erin Hemmens
City of Nanaimo	Paul Manly
City of Nanaimo	Janice Perrino
City of Nanaimo	lan Thorpe

Director Vanessa Craig was elected Chair of the RDN Board and Director Tyler Brown was elected Vice-Chair by acclamation. Provincial legislation requires regional districts annually elect a Chair and a Vice-Chair at the first meeting of the Board after November 1. The Chair and Vice-Chair positions are held for a one-year term.

"I am honoured to be elected Chair by my colleagues for the first year of our four-year term as a board and pleased to continue working with Vice-Chair Brown. I look forward to working with our new board to address regional priorities and to meet the needs of our residents through the delivery of quality services throughout the region."

Vanessa Craig, Chair, Regional District of Nanaimo



For more information on the RDN Board, visit rdn.bc.ca/regional-board.

Regional District of Nanaimo Board

Back Row, left to right, Directors: Janice Perrino, Sheryl Armstrong, Sean Wood, Stuart McLean, Leonard Krog, Tyler Brown (Vice-Chair), Doug O'Brien, Paul Manly, Teunis Westbroek, Vanessa Craig (Chair) Front Row, left to right, Directors: Bob Rogers, Leanne Salter, Ian Thorpe, Jessica Stanley, Lehann Wallace, Lauren Melanson, Mark Swain

Not in photo: Directors Erin Hemmens and Ben Geselbracht

-30-

For more information, please contact:

Rebecca Taylor

Communications Coordinator

(250-390-6502

🖂 rtaylor@rdn.bc.ca

