

## **NEWS RELEASE**

November 8, 2022

# The Nanaimo Regional Hospital District Welcomes New and Returning Directors to its Board for a Four-Year Term

The Nanaimo Regional Hospital District (NRHD) welcomed new and returning directors for the 2022-2026 term at its inaugural board meeting on November 8, 2022. The NRHD Board of Directors are:

Electoral Area A	Jessica Stanley
South Wellington, Cassidy, Cedar	
Electoral Area B	Vanessa Craig
Gabriola & Surrounding Islands	
Electoral Area C	Lauren Melanson
Extension, East Wellington, Pleasant Valley	
Electoral Area E	Bob Rogers
Nanoose Bay	
Electoral Area F	Leanne Salter
Coombs, Hilliers, Errington	
Electoral Area G	Lehann Wallace
Englishman River, San Pareil, French Creek, Little Qualicum, Dashwood	
Electoral Area H	Stuart McLean
Shaw Hill, Deep Bay, Bowser	
City of Parksville	Doug O'Brien
City of Parksville	Sean Wood
Town of Qualicum Beach	Teunis Westbroek
District of Lantzville	Mark Swain
City of Nanaimo	Leonard Krog
City of Nanaimo	Sheryl Armstrong
City of Nanaimo	Tyler Brown
City of Nanaimo	Ben Geselbracht
City of Nanaimo	Erin Hemmens
City of Nanaimo	Paul Manly
City of Nanaimo	Janice Perrino
City of Nanaimo	Ian Thorpe

**Get Involved RDN!** 

At the inaugural meeting, Director Ian Thorpe was elected Chair by acclamation and Director Janice Perrino was elected Acting Chair by acclamation.

"I appreciate the opportunity to lead the Nanaimo Regional Hospital District board as we work with key stakeholders to advocate for better healthcare for our residents. The NRHD Board recently identified priority projects to improve healthcare access in our region; we remain committed to supporting these projects and achieving these goals."

Ian Thorpe, Chair, Nanaimo Regional Hospital District

"Broader healthcare services are urgently needed in our region to improve health outcomes for our community. I am grateful for the opportunity to work on vital projects that will benefit residents' health and to support the Nanaimo Regional Hospital District board's efforts through my role as Acting Chair."

Janice Perrino, Acting Chair, Nanaimo Regional Hospital District

#### **About the Nanaimo Regional Hospital District**

The NRHD is an independent entity, and its sole purpose is to provide capital funding (which includes equipment, land and physical structures) to Island Health in support of five local healthcare facilities under the Hospital District Act. These facilities are Nanaimo Regional General Hospital and Dufferin Park Lodge in Nanaimo, Trillium Lodge and Oceanside Health Centre in Parksville and Eagle Park Health Care Facility in Qualicum Beach. The NRHD has its own budget and is governed by a Board of Directors while sharing the same boundaries, directors and administrative staff as the Regional District of Nanaimo. Hospital Districts are required to approve a provisional budget on or before December 31 each year and adopt, by bylaw, an annual budget on or before March 31 each year. More information about the NRHD can be found online at: rdn.bc.ca/hospital-district.



#### **Nanaimo Regional Hospital District Board**

Back Row, left to right, Directors: Janice Perrino (Acting Chair), Sheryl Armstrong, Sean Wood, Stuart McLean, Leonard Krog, Tyler Brown, Doug O'Brien, Paul Manly, Teunis Westbroek, Vanessa Craig Front Row, left to right, Directors: Bob Rogers, Leanne Salter, Ian Thorpe (Chair), Jessica Stanley, Lehann Wallace, Lauren Melanson, Mark Swain

Not in photo: Directors Erin Hemmens and Ben Geselbracht

**Get Involved RDN!** 

### For more information, please contact:

Rebecca Taylor **Communications Coordinator** 



**②** 250-390-6502

**Get Involved RDN!**